Latest News

'Waltzing Trophy' to be awarded at Women in Football Tournament

January 11, 2021

Women’s football teams from around the country are encouraged to plan for an end-of-season trip to the NSW Central Coast by taking part in the Women in Football Tournament at Tuggerah from 11-12 September 2021 which will see the winners awarded the 'Waltzing Trophy'. 

The 'Waltzing Trophy' is in reference to the 1975 women's team that placed third in the inaugural Asian Cup for women but which has not yet been recognised as an Australian team, even though the team competed as Australia against other nations.

The Women in Football Tournament is a 16-team competition comprised of a group stage and a knockout stage, with every team guaranteed a minimum of four games over the weekend.


The lower-placed teams from the group stage will compete in parallel in the knockout stage for the Pat O'Connor Trophy, named after the captain of the team. (Background information here).


The idea behind the Women in Football Tournament is to bring women together who play, coach or referee football, who are volunteers in any capacity, ‘soccer mums’, or who just enjoy the game, to celebrate the many faceted contribution of women to the game.


It is a way of women making connections, building new bridges, making new friends, exchanging experiences and helping to have a positive impact on the role of women in football.


It is hoped that it will help inspire women to take on leadership roles in the game also.

While we all enjoy the Matildas, the Socceroos, the W-League and A-League, and seeing our own kids play, this is a weekend for the many women behind-the-scenes in clubs, and in teams, to get together and just enjoy the game for what it is - not because of something we have to do.


The other aspect of the weekend involves the Women in Football Awards, which are supported by the NSW Government. 


The Awards will be given in three categories of Volunteer, Media and Emerging Leader.


These categories have been selected because volunteers are the backbone of grassroots clubs, as well as professional clubs. Without them, the game wouldn’t survive, and this award is to help recognise the efforts of the hundreds of thousands of individuals who make sure clubs, teams and matches tick-over week-in, week-out.


The media award is to encourage more and improved media on women’s football, whether that be in the mainstream or non-traditional media and regardless of whether it’s print or broadcast. It can be awarded to an individual or a group.


The Emerging Leader award is to encourage younger people to step-up and help show the way for others in achieving a better gender balance in the committees and boardrooms of football in Australia, as well as in coaching, refereeing, media, administration and management.


Nominations for all three categories close on 2 July 2021.

The tournament will be hosted at the Central Coast Regional Sporting Complex in Tuggerah, a high quality purpose-built sporting complex with multiple fields. 

The Central Coast is located approximately 90 kilometres from Sydney and is easily accessible by train service from Sydney and Sydney Airport. 

The Women in Football Tournament is an initiative of Women in Football Australia, a national member-based charitable association aimed at advancing and celebrating the role of women in football.

The Women in Football Tournament is supported by the NSW Government, the Central Coast Council and Central Coast Mariners Football Club.


Further information, including entry forms for the tournament and nomination forms for the Awards can be found at

Women in Football Tournament, 11-12 September 2021

Central Coast Regional Sporting Complex, Tuggerah

Team entry fee: $495 (by 31 May); $600 (after 31 May)

Tournament format:

  • amateur 

  • age 18 plus

  • 4 groups of 4

  • top two teams in each group progress to 'Waltzing Trophy'

  • lower two teams in each group progress to 'Pat O'Connor Cup'

  • 2 x 20 minute halves, full field

  • unlimited substitutions for O-35s; five per game for U-35s

Full details here.

Women in Football Awards presented 11 September 2021


  • Volunteer

  • Media

  • Emerging Leader

Further information here.

Women in Football Australia Inc.

PO Box 174


ABN:  45 805 287 901


©2020 Women in Football